4 Years Ago….

I haven’t been on here in a while, a real long while. When I first started writing on my blog, I loved it. I had a bunch of posts planned and some are even typed out just waiting to be posted but they never saw the light of day. I got bogged down by it. I lost the initial love for it that I started out with. I mean who wants to hear about the life of a 26 year-old living in Indiana? My life doesn’t seem that interesting anyway. But I recently realized who fucking cares if other people don’t want to read what I write, I just want to write! So I am going to get back into the swing of things and I realized what a better way to get started then to talk about a very important upcoming event!

1535374_687109197976650_338343991_n

This weekend, Sunday to be exact, marks 4 years that Tyler and I have been together. On May 28th, 2013 we had our very first date and it marked the beginning of a bunch of firsts for me. It was the first time, in a long time, I agreed to go out on a date with a boy. It was the first time I went out in Broad Ripple, a hip neighborhood in Indy, and set foot in a club. It was the first time I had gone out to see a band I had never heard of before. It was the first time I had actual fun with another human being in a long time. Finally, it was the first time I could actually see myself in a relationship.

10468632_10152279247389075_3356341314046538898_n

We went to The Vogue to see Japandriods in concert. I was introduced to them maybe a week or so before we actually went and actually really like their music. They are a two-man band that play somewhat punky rock and roll. We met at my place, had a drink and went to the concert. It was crowded which made me nervous cause, you know, anxiety and I remember grabbing Tyler’s wrist so I didn’t lose him. It was a small gesture but still really cute. After the concert we got Taco Bell and went back to my place to my place to eat. We talked and watched tv, it was perfect. I loved how simple and sweet our relationship started out.

11224052_10153180402919075_4066975942447163767_n

It’s really crazy to think how we grew up in the same town and went to the same school but never talked before. I literally only have one memory of actually physically seeing him and that was my senior year after a play I was in with his then girlfriend. I remember thinking it was really cute how supportive he was of her but that was it. But even then I didn’t even remember what he looked like so I had to look him up on Facebook and his picture was a skinny kid with longer hair. That was the kid I was expecting to show up at my door but instead I got a somewhat buff, buzz cut kid and I liked that look way better. I fell in love with him extremely fast, and even had a couple embarrassing early I Love You moments that he still makes fun of me for.

13516356_10153842715754075_3751511785948722052_n

This weekend also happens to be Memorial Day weekend so we get to spend four whole days together. We usually go out to eat somewhere special but this year I wanted to stay in. Tyler asked if I wanted to do anything and I told him I wanted to move our mattress to the living room so we can watch movies (maybe build a fort….). He meant like go out and do something but nah. We have a full weekend of delicious food and drinks planned and I can’t wait. We are kicking things off tonight by trying a new restaurant, one of only two places we are going out to eat at. The rest we are making ourselves!

I’ll try to make a lengthy food post after the weekend if I can remember to take pictures. I’ll have to write myself a note on our whiteboard. Then I’ll start posting more regularly about what’s going on with us and the dogs. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

