We Are Not Sheep

Yesterday was the day to grieve. I realize that all of my fears are extremely valid. I watched the news as Donald Trump made fun and bashed many of the different groups that make America the beautiful country that it is. I watched my Facebook feed fill up with hate, from Trump supporters, non-Trump supporters, and people who just didn’t give a shit at all. I’ve seen the reactions of people from all across the country and beyond. I have cried, yelled, fumed, and so much more. Today, I woke up feeling like utter crap. The stress from the last two days has just worn me down. I haven’t feel like this even in my most personal stressful times. But, this morning I also realized something….

We Are Not Sheep.

We can sit at our computers and type all the blogs, tweets, and status updates that we want but what will that accomplish? Yesterday, I got a lot of my frustrations out but afterwards I realized I needed to actually do something. The American people are much stronger than we think. We can accomplish so much, but thanks in large part to our government, we have been taught that we don’t matter. We do matter! We can make a difference if we band together and make a stand.

No, we can’t overrule who is about to become our president. But we don’t have to respect him as our president. The last 8 years have had people disrespecting Obama because of his race, his actions, and even the smallest mistake. If you can’t respect someone who is so much more upstanding then how am I supposed to respect someone who is deplorable? We don’t have to stand ideally by as our country takes a million steps backwards. We don’t have to stand by and watch as people around the nation are persecuted for the color of their skin, where they come from, or who they love. We don’t have to stand by while women lose the right to control their own bodies. We don’t have to watch this man abuse his power!

So what can we do? We can make a stand. Stand up for what you believe in. Stand up for climate change, stand up for equal rights, stand up for Planned Parenthood, stand up against racism, just stand up! Don’t just stop because you feel you are powerless. Your voice is so much stronger than you think. Your actions will speak so much louder than you even know. Look at those protesting at Standing Rock! Slowly people began to take notice and slowly they have made progress. We too can stand with them and we too can stand with each other to accomplish what ever we put our minds too.

Yesterday I said the nation died. I saw it reflected in the news, in my friends, in total strangers but in all of that I also saw a glimmer of hope. A small light in the eye of a dead nation that we might just be able to resuscitate. Maybe, just maybe, if all of us work together we can make Donald Trump’s time in office a little harder. I mean it already is going to be hard for him since he will have no idea what he is doing. Those who hold office cannot stand unrest from their citizens. So lets band together and cause that unrest.

Just remember, we are not sheep! We cannot and do not have to accept the changes this man wants to make. Don’t threaten to leave the country, Trump and his supporters would be happy to see you go, but instead stay and work to make this country the one you, and I, believe it could be. Please, just don’t give up.

“Finally, understand that when we stand together, we will always win. When men and women stand together for justice, we win. When black, white, Hispanic people stand together for justice, we win. When straight and gay people stand together for justice, we win.” – Bernie Sanders.

Leave a Reply

