FOOD!

Throughout the week, Tyler and I don’t really get fancy about dinner. We have tacos every Monday from our local Mexican restaurant, Tuesdays are usually reserved for leftovers, Wednesdays and Thursdays we either make ourselves something simple or we go to Chipotle, but Friday, Saturday and Sunday we go all out. We usually eat out at least once and then spend the rest of the time making delicious homemade meals. I plan on starting a new blog post highlighting some of our favorite recipes including chicken tikka masala, baked ziti, enchiladas, and much much more. I actually planned on starting it this past weekend but every time I went to cook, I would be half way through and realize I didn’t take any pictures!

This weekend was kicked off Chinese food from the place in our hometown, Tyler had to run up there to get a package and we always get China Garden to take home. Saturday’s lunch was simple lunch meat sandwiches but with the good quality cheese and ham from the grocery store deli, it tasted amazing! Dinner I made my chicken enchiladas. It was a simple recipe I found on a budget food blog, but I can’t let recipes just be. I always have to add something extra. The original recipe is just beans and cheese wrapped up in a corn tortilla with a homemade enchilada sauce and topped with fresh avocado. I add seasoning to the refried beans and I use refried black beans instead of plain old pinto beans. I add extra salt to the sauce and change up a little bit on how I add the spices. And finally I add chicken breasts that I have seasoned with a tex mex mix from The Pioneer Woman and seared off in a pan. These enchiladas are one if Tyler’s favorite meals.

Sunday was football day and we always try to make food that is extra special. For breakfast we had avocado toast. Avocado toast is so simple and so delicious. You can easily just use mashed avocado with salt and pepper but we usually make guacamole. By we, I mean Tyler makes guac. I tried once and misread the directions and I don’t ever think he will let me make it again. After Tyler expertly makes the guac, he makes the toast and fries up an egg. They all come together to make the most simple and scrumptious breakfast/brunch ever. The best part is the leftover guac came in handy later because I made carnitas for the first time ever on Sunday and they turned out amazing. I just browned up large pork loins threw them in the crock pot with some spices and beer and 6 hours (and several movies and football games later) we had this amazingly cooked pork for carnitas tacos. Tyler made some pico and it all came together perfectly.

We of course had a bunch of leftovers, so Monday night I just ate another 4 tacos but yesterday I wanted something different and I was craving pasta! So I made a quick pasta sauce with tomato paste, garlic, olive oil, red wine, Italian seasoning, salt, pepper and some of the leftover meat. It made this delicious ragu style sauce and it only took 20 minutes!

We have already planned the meal for this weekend and I will hopefully remember to take pictures and share the recipes!

Leave a Reply

