An Adventure in Sushi Making

Another week down and the first story for He and She is finished! Before I publish it on here, I want Tyler to read through it and find all of my grammar errors. He has written several short stories himself but hasn’t published any. I wish I could swipe them from him and publish them myself, they are all really good.

We had a pretty good week (minus one minor setback) in the Murphy-Ewen Household. 13325719_10153788648314075_786734642520900410_nThe fourth of July weekend was rough on the boys. We already knew Opie hated fireworks but we were not prepared for Percy. He does not get all worked up during thunderstorms so we thought he would be okay with fireworks but boy were we wrong. The whole weekend involved prying him out from under the bed and dragging him outside at night to go potty. If he wasn’t under the bed, he wanted to hide in the back of the closet curled up in a little ball. Even now he doesn’t want to go outside after dark.

I went vegetarian for the week and it was a lot easier to drop meat than I thought. But in the end I love meat, I mean really love meat. I spent another lovely two days at IHS cataloging. I had my first reading room shift and everything went smoothly, it helped that there was only one person in the room for two hours. We went to look a new apartment this weekend and it was awful. The place was highly rated but the apartment was just way too small and the model they showed us literally smelled like shit.

I got to see some of my old work friends at a housewarming party. It was a lot of fun to sit Snapchat-4971154430950138678 (1)around and chat, drink and dance. Sunday consisted of homemade sushi, Bioshock Infinite, and chicken tikka masala. Sushi is my favorite food by far. I think about it at least once a day everyday. We have a Japanese grocery store not far from our apartment, we usually go there to eat at the their cafe but this weekend we went there to shop. It was a lot cheaper than I thought it was going to be to make it myself. I read several horror stories of people trying and failing at making it themselves but I was going to try it anyway. It turned out amazing! From the homemade sushi rice to the freshness of the fish it was like eating at a sushi restaurant. Chicken tikka masala is one of our favorites and I love making it.

Overall it was a very good Sunday minus the bad news I received in the middle of my sushi making. I did not get the position at the Carmel Clay Historical Society. She said I did a great job in the interview, gave me pointers for my resume, would have been a great addition to the team but I lacked the experience they were looking for. I’ve started applying for positions that are full-time again and most of them are out of state. I don’t really know if that is the right move but I can’t afford to have a position that is only two days a week with all of the bills we have coming in. Oh well, I’m young and I am sure things will fall into place eventually.

Leave a Reply

